Listen Down: Oneohtrix Point Never Released a Trio of Songs Ahead of New Album ‘Magic Oneohtrix Point Never’

The Brooklyn based experimental artist Oneohtrix Point Never announces a new record and releases a trio of tunes ahead of its release.

By Bubba Krishnamurti

Photo by David Brandon Geeting

Daniel Lopatin, known by his nom de plum Oneohtrix Point Never, has announced the release of his next studio album. The album titled Magic Oneohtrix Point Never arrives October 30th via Warp Records. Ahead of the release, Lopatin has shared three new songs under the umbrella of ‘Drive Time Suite,’ which features ‘Cross Talk I,’ ‘Auto & Allo,’ and ‘Long Road Home ’ which features vocals from Caroline Polachek

The tongue in cheek Magic Oneohtrix Point Never moniker of Lopatin’s new album is a nod to a bungled description by Boston’s Magic 106.7 radio station. OPN’s press release on the new record elaborates on the title:

The structure of Magic Oneohtrix Point Never itself loosely summons the broadcasting logic of radio dayparts, starting in the morning and ending overnight, latticed together with kaleidoscopic, twitchy transformations of sound between the dials. Lopatin has long been engaged with radio as a mode of aleatory listening. The now defunct “Beautiful Music” format popularized later as “easy listening” and “new age” is just one of the many colors heard on the album. Lopatin also collages together archival recordings of various American FM stations’ “format flips,” in which detourned DJ sign-offs collide with advertisements and self-help mantras to form darkly humorous reflections on American music culture.

Listen Down, Now:

Magic Oneohtrix Point Never will be released on October 30 via Warp Records. Pre-order the album in digital, vinyl, CD and cassette here.

Track Listing:

01. Cross Talk I

02. Auto & Allo

03. Long Road Home

04. Cross Talk II

05. I Don’t Love Me Anymore

06. Bow Ecco

07. The Whether Channel

08. No Nightmares

09. Cross Talk III

10. Tales From The Trash Stratum

11. Answering Machine

12. Imago

13. Cross Talk IV / Radio Lonelys

14. Lost But Never Alone

15. Shifting

16. Wave Idea

17. Nothing’s Special


  • Show Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

comment *

  • name *

  • email *

  • website *

You May Also Like

Listen Down: M.I.A.’s New Song ‘CTRL’

British-Sri Lankan rapper, producer, and activist M.I.A. has released a new single titled ‘CTRL.’ ...

Beck Teams up with NASA for a ‘Visual Album’ That Works

Beck has released a new visual album to accompany his 2019 album Hyperspace and ...

Spotify, Labels Strangle Artists’ Ability to Earn During Pandemic

The live music industry has experienced a complete tailspin in recent months. Massive tours ...

Aphex Twin’s Yamaha CS-5 Synth is Being Auctioned on eBay

The classic Yamaha, analog mono-synth is for sale and listed on eBay. yet this ...

Detroit’s Black Noi$e Releases Latest Record ‘Oblivion’ along with Visual Experience

Detroit producer Black Noi$e has released the latest project Oblivion via Earl Sweatshirt's Tan ...

Listen Down: Terminal Nation’s Barbarous New Album ‘Holocene Extinction’

The Arkansas-based political-grindcore outfit Terminal Nation make perfect music for 2020. It is barbarous ...